Thursday, May 17, 2012

Sweet Nothings by Catherine Anderson

Image result for sweet nothings book coverSweet Nothings by Catherine Anderson
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

464 pages

The second entry in the Coulter Family series, Sweet Nothings, was released in April 2002, and focuses on the eldest brother of the family, Jake and his romance with the vulnerable Molly Wells. Catherine Anderson picks up right where she left off in this tale of secrets, betrayal, and trust. Jake Coulter has a reputation of being a tough playboy, but when he first meets Molly, a young woman who is accompanied by a traumatized horse she rescued from physical mistreatment, he immediately feels the need to protect her. Molly on the other hand doesn't trust men after suffering emotional abuse at the hands of her ex-husband, but she accepts Jake’s offer to help her in her time of distress because she has no alternatives.

Throughout the course of the novel, Molly has to face the insecurities she dealt with during her marriage and Jake tries to encourage her to love herself and they fall in love in the process. The great aspect of this novel is the evolution of Molly’s character from frightened and cynical to tough and trusting of Jake. There is a genuine sense of growth and overcoming of past misfortunes that strengthens the bond between Jake and Molly. Sweet Nothings teaches the important lesson that love doesn't just happen when the timing is right, it can happen if you open your heart enough to let it. Anderson’s follow up definitely will not disappoint those who enjoyed reading about Ryan and Bethany in the first novel.                                    

No comments:

Post a Comment